• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

blue89bird

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Newbie here for the most part, had this up and running a few months now.

12 gallon Nano Cube DX
Pulsing Xenia on the left
Orange Tube Coral
Yellow and Brown Polyps on the right side
Hawaiin Featherduster
Turbo Snail
4 Stripe Damsel
3 Emerald Crabs
IMG_2706.JPG

brandon4291

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for the photo submission bluebird. What are your plans for that elegance coral skeleton up top? That could also be a hammer coral skeleton as well, but for now I'm voting catalaphyllia...not that it matters, but that could make good substrate for future coral or zoanthid gluings (just brainstorming)

Most new systems have an algae cycle when becoming established, we want to manage your cycle (if that's the case) as best we can based on the photos...did that algae grow in the system, as it may happen in newer setups, or did it grow in another system and get transferred over to yours? I'd take some new directions in feeding/cleaning that system based on your answers, because I can see three items in there that require a nice feeding/maintenance schedule to get a hold on things for the long-haul. Lemme know!
B429

blue89bird

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I actually had another 12 gallon "cube" that my grandfather gave me with most of the things already in it, but I could never get the water quality good (thinking there were some dead things in there that were never cleaned out) so I purchased a new tank, live sand, and put the majority of the live rock in there to cycle it. Once the water measured up good, i transfered the live stock over.