• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

WesleT

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
ok i am new here and i got some questions... i recently set up a 10 gallon salt water tank.. this is my first time to do a small tank and everyone says its hard.. i have experience in 55 72 and a 150 (none are reef though)...

so i need a list of what to do to get started

right now i have the thing set up with crushed coral.. using a whisper as the filter and i have two elite 802 air pumps pumping into it.. the flow is excelent..
I put some ghost shrimp in there to cycle it out

my main question is do i need a skimmer. and do they make one for a 10g ... the smallest i have seen is for a 75
also what kind of lighting to i need do i need to get the corallife light or will a regular florescent work (the light on it right now is all-glass pre-heat 15w)
and do i need RO water?

any other suggestions please let me know

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Absolutely no need for a skimmer. The ease with which water changes are carried out negates the need for one.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to RDO!

You're definatley going to need more light. You might be able to keep a few mushrooms, or other softies with that light, but they won't do so well. You'll have to upgrade. There's actually a retro-kit for the light. You just wire in a new power compact light to the existing fixture. It's pretty easy if you're okay working with electricity!

On my 10, I had 2- 32W PC lights, and could keep anything I wanted. (I didn't want a clam or anenome at the time.)

Filter, You don't necessarly need the air pumps. As long as the return from the hang on is above the water, You'll be stiring the surface. All the air pumps will do is create a lot of salt creep.