• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Will-I-Am

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all I am new to saltwater and would like to try to start a nano tank. I have been keeping FW fish for about 2 years now. I have a Walmart special 10 gal the lights are nothing special so I am sure that New lights are a must. What all am I going to need to get started? Thanks,

Will-I-Am

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am a nano novice myself. However, there's a Nano Tank Buildoff contest going on. Looking through the threads should give you some basic ideas as well as reading posts from similar questions in this forum.

In my humble opinion, a nano tank might not be the best introduction to the world of saltwater. I'm finding it to be much more complex than keeping the larger tanks.

brandon4291

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good advice guys. I would also recommend visiting and extracting some information from our beginner's forum because it's chock full of such good detail that even experienced aquarists find help commonly. I check it regularly as well to search for new inspirations...

If you do choose to start with a 10g nano, I'd say absolutes are a salinity meter and a reliable temperature zone. Do whatever you need to do to keep the temp at 80 maximum and roughly 75 minimum. I know there is some lee way for variance here, but I'd like to think that if you can keep the water stable somewhere in this range you have the temp thing nicked. With the new saltwater aquarium filled with SW, test it regularly with the salinity meter and get a feel for the freshwater topoff requirements. I'd go with the lighting last...it can be chosen based on other factors that don't have much to do with the initial balance of the new aquarium. Just my two cents.

Welcome though!@ glad to have you onboard. Couldn't have picked a better place to befriend for saltwater information@!

B

Will-I-Am

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0