• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

A

Anonymous

I saw these mods in another thread. Anyone that's got some info for me, it's appreciated.

download.php

...Q: How did you mount the clips that hold the 2nd light? When I looked at my hood, it seems as if there's a compartment or something in that exact spot where I should drill. What I mean is, when i flip the lid over (so it's upright) I can see a swell in the thickness of the lid there. Or am I just seeing things? Should I just drill right through? That's kinda ghetto to have the hardware displaying. But I guess I could use black colored round top screws.

download.php

...Q: i'm a noob at reef plumbing and such. Any tips for this? Is there a how-to somewhere? Where can I buy that nozzle deal? I really wanna do this mod ...

Thanks for any help you might have!
-Bree

Juck

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not sure if I understand you correctly here,,, but don't drill the compartment under the other half of the reflector,, that's where the ballast lives. :)

In order to get the retro 28w PC in there you have to take the stock ballast out and run it behind the tank someplace.

Not sure about the directional doobrie,, I'm sure someone else here will.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok that's exactly what I was asking, but the picture posted is still confusing me. The pic appears to illustrate the ballast having been removed and the 2nd light being put in that spot ... if so, would I not need to drill 2 holes for the light clips?

ps thanks for all your advice, juck.

Juck

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
eesh,, glad we sidestepped drilling-through-the-ballast!

I haven't seen the retro kit from Hellolights personally so I don't know how long the screws are. Did you PM the guy who did the mod? I can't remember who it was.

Perhaps the holders could be epoxied in place,, pretty much any 2-part epoxy would do.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0