• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Fozza

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well this is my first time here so would like to say hello to everyone.

I'm thinking of setting up a 10g nano reef, but just need a little more info before I start.

I have 40lbs of Live Rock available, how much of it can I use for the 10gal? (I'd like to use as much as I possibly can, bare in mind I also have 20lbs of Live Sand that I will be placing in the tank) (I like a good amount of caves :), so the more rock I can use the better )

I have a skilter 400 for skimming and a little water movement (filter media will be removed), 201 and 301 powerhead, enough water movement?

Lighting - 2x 50/50 Sun Reef 6k 'K Tubes, should I add/change?

The type of corals I'd like to keep are mainly just mushrooms, polyps and a leather (that hopefully the clown will take to).

The only fish I'd like to keep are two I already have from a larger tank, a 4" Tomato Clown (just has great character, love the little guy), and a 4" Pink Spotted Goby. Will these be fine in a 10gal, or the both of them too much?

Thanks!

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to reefs.org yo!

I guess the general rule of thumb being 2.5 lbs per gallon or so. That would put your rock at like 25 pounds ... but theoretically you can put in as much as you can fit. I've tried it both ways - having a tank crowded with rocks and having a lot of open area. *shrug* it's up to you. One caveat though, and this might be more important in a nano ... more rocks reduces the total water volume. Also noteworthy ... in a nano, you'll love it so much more if you stick to really small bits of rock, almost rubble rock sized. Not only is it easier to arrange in such a small space, but it also affords the visual impression of more volume in a small space (large rocks will make it look very crowded very quickly).