• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

airangel

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,

New to the forum, been reading about & looking at what others have done to the Nano Cube to get some ideas. I am new to SW/Reef but have been a FW aquarist for decades, decided to get my feet wet in the salty way.

My questions are:

1-Have a slightly expired bag 6/03 of Arag Alive ( live at one point) sand, how dead is it and would it harm my Cube if I added it to the bag of dead sand I plan to use as substrate once I get going?

2-How much dead/alive sand should one use in the Nano?

3- I love the look of LR, how much would I need to get going and should any of it be base or all LR? Stuff's pretty spendy (LR) for only a few pounds of it (looked into ordering but not worth it for only a few lbs)

4-Not sure about the inhabitants at this point. I would like recommendations as far as what snails to get, what would go with a Clown fish (should I get 2?) and whats the most laid back of the Clowns?
Thinking about hermit crabs (dwarf perhaps?) and shrimp-any recommendations here? How many fish would be ok to have total in a 12g system?

5-What is the salinity I will be aiming for?

I figured to read up and post prior to even getting my Nano. I want to do it right the first time or at least make the attempt.

Thanks for reading this far and for giving a salt newbie your thoughts, tips, hints & recommendations.

nanocat

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'd use the arag-alive (there's nothing "live" in there besides bacteria anyway). If you have the standard 20 lb. sack that's all you'll need. I only used about 17 lbs. and my bed is a good 1 1/2". I'm thinking about removing some even.

I know LR is expensive but since you're only going to need about 10-14 lbs. I'd use cured LR from my LFS out of their tank. It will save you some time. You can use base rock but it will be a while before it becomes "live".