• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

daysleeper

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

Newbie here and really enjoying the forum, pictures etc.!
I'm hoping someone can provide some advice about a fish combination that we are considering.

Right now, we have an Eclipse 6 with an orchid dottyback, peppermint shrimp, emerald crab, 2 astrea snails, 2 nassa snails, and 2 small cerith snails. Everything is going good -- so far anyway :wink: .

But of course, I want to add another fish :roll: so we are going to upgrade to a larger tank. The fish I want to add is a yellow clown goby.

My questions then are:
Are the orchid and the goby compatible in any size tank?
And, if so, what is the minimum size tank to allow this?

After much deliberation we have come down to a choice between the JBJ 12 gallon nano cube, or going "crazy" and getting a 30 gallon flat back hex clarity plus acrylic. Quite a difference, yes? The final decision will in part be based on the responses to this post. If 12 gallons is not enough space for these two small fish, then we shall go to the "medium" (?) sized reef. I would like to stay as small as possible, but want the critters to be happy and healthy!

Thanks much for any feedback!!

UnderGrad

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Wow! You guys are shooting for the fancy upgrades - they are both excellent choices IMO. However, if you are a true reefer you're just going to have to face facts and go with the larger tank so you don't have to upgrade again when you want to put in yet another fish :wink: ! I've never kept an orchid dottyback so I can't really offer you any advice on them (Matt Wandell I'm sure will have plenty to share with you about em), but my fiance does keep two clown gobies in our 65g and they seem to get along with just about anything except each other. How is your rock arranged and what kind of corals do you keep? And how about some pics? I'm sure everyone here would like a glimpse of what you've got.