• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Soultwater

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I only know salt but need Freshwater help

I have extensive knowledge (15 years) with salt and reef tanks and build most of my systems including the wet dry filters and protein skimmers. I am living in Germany temporarily and decided to enjoy freshwater again, since it would be a huge waste of time and money building a salt system knowing that I’ll be moving again in a few years. I haven’t purchased a RODI system yet but do plan on that soon. I set up my tank approx 50 gal with gravel and 3 large pieces of drift wood purchased at the LFS. The tank was used and it came with a penguin power filter so I decided to use it for now. My questions are…

What concerns should I have with the wood?
With the drift wood can I keep cichlids?
If cichlids are ok what water additives should I use with them?
What type of fish should I avoid with the driftwood?
What type of water tests will I need with freshwater?
What will I need to do when I start using RODI water?
I have an old overflow box and items needed to build a wet dry system including the pump would you ditch the power filter?

Thanks

Soultwater

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here is an update

I should mention the used tank came with 4 fish that have been in my bathroom chilling in a bucket for about a week now. I am not sure about keeping the 2 angles, 1 Plecostomus and the cory cat because I have always wanted to do something with cichlids.

I cleaned the drift wood prior to putting in the tank buy it still changed the color of the water brown. I did a 100% water change last night hoping to get the last of the debris from resealing the used tank + setting up the tank with used gravel + placing the new driftwood, guess the nitrogen cycle will start again from day 1…