• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

MelanieF

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I've kept FW for at least 20 years now but just this month am diving into the FW planted experience...

Using a dip test strip I'm showing my KH at 300ppm and my GH at 25ppm. I used a water softener pillow for like 30 hours as I was told some of my fish prefered soft water. My bala sharks, glolight tetras and german blue ram are all happy but my green cory is spazzing out and one of my plants has a leaf that is starting to deteriorate.

As I'm still learning the whole planted concept does anyone see an issue with my GH/KH readings?

BTW, I am keeping low light plants and avoiding the whole CO2 thing for now. Also, I am using normal aquarium gravel w/ laterite mixed into the bottom inch, added one capful of FloraPlan 2 days ago, temp at 80F, and hang on filter w/ Marineland's Diamond Blend. Lighting is at about 1 watt per gallon w/ possible upgrade in the future. (I know 1 watt per gallon can be done per another thread here so I'm giving it a shot.)

Thanks in advance! :D

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
MelanieF":xt05nytu said:
So I've kept FW for at least 20 years now but just this month am diving into the FW planted experience...

Using a dip test strip I'm showing my KH at 300ppm and my GH at 25ppm. I used a water softener pillow for like 30 hours as I was told some of my fish prefered soft water. My bala sharks, glolight tetras and german blue ram are all happy but my green cory is spazzing out and one of my plants has a leaf that is starting to deteriorate.

As I'm still learning the whole planted concept does anyone see an issue with my GH/KH readings?