• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Studz

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

I have a 58gallon tank (about 13ltr [I think])

I have currently only got three plastic plants, and a treasure chest in the tank (very cheesy I know :oops: )

The fish I currently have are:

¤ X-ray tetra x5
¤ CoryDora Cat (bronze) x 1
¤ CoryDora Cat (albino) x 1

so for those who maths is bad :lol: thats only 7 fish.

How many fish is an ideal number? I'm new to keeping fish, so only want easy to look after fish to start with, as would be obvious.

my parents used to keep fish when they were younger and I have consulted them about this, but it has been many moons since they kept them now :D so they aren't sure.

I know I don't want to keep guppys either as they can breed like wild fire (or so I'm told), wo what would be a good choice for the next addition to my tank?

sorry for all the newbie questions, but I'm looking to keep this hobby going and advance onto something more adventurous in a few years time, as I know keeping fish is a skill.

Thanks for your help.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Actually you have to include the size of the fish as well.

IMO you can support a much heavier fish load by using planted tank methods. For instance, I have around 20-30 guppies and 5-6 platties in a 10g tank that is crammed full of live growing plants.

So a lot depends on how the tank is setup, maintained, and what kind of fish are in there.

This thread shows a planted tank:

http://www.reefs.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=60020

Studz

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
lol 20-30 guppies, the precise :D

After looking at those tanks, is a lot of plantlife like that really needed? or can I get away with having a few plants?

as for sizes of fish, being new to this, size doesn't really matter much as for what fish I'd like to keep, except when looking at their adult size in comparison.