• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So my Fluval Filter died out last night.

I am relatively new at all this and am curious if i should be buying a new one to replace it or get ready to go to a wet/dry system with pump and protein skimmer underneath the tank.

My setup is relatively fresh, 55 gallon tank with Current 4 Light T5 with a snow leopard eel, Achilles Tang, some damsels, some clowns and a clam. Would like to eventually add some coral to brighten it up.

Any and all suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You could do that, but with fish only tanks it is not really necessary. I would go with the cheapest option and most convient. You could always add a HO skimmer if you want.

I would eventually be adding add corals to the tank. So instead of doing things twice and paying for them twice, I would like to
xsp7aR6AAAAAElFTkSuQmC=
wQYAMT1GrG4vnRMAAAAAElFTkSuQmC=
plan ahead.

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Unless the tank is drilled the under tank sumps can have an assortment of issues, a syphon break being one of them.

Yeah I'm debating on getting the overflow or just getting a drilled thank. They are roughly the same price. My only setback is that I eventually want to get bigger with the tank so buying the 55 Drilled right now would also be a waste of money if I want to upgrade 6 - 9 months down the road.

Reason for hesitation on upgrading now is I would like some more experience first before I went that route.

Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Hefe-Weizen

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 100%
53   0   0
You could put a few bioballs in a nylon bag and float them in the filter. No drawbacks, it will perform similar to your fluval and will be easier to service. They also have a very high flow rate. I used the 110 years back and it kept a 55 very clear and also pumped 500 gph.

Rating - 0%
0   0   0