• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

James404

MH for Life!
Rating - 100%
27   0   0
Got some requests about the in-tank treatment of levamisole for AEFW that I have done so figured I would repost the information here, straight from my original thread on RC.

PLEASE ONLY CONSIDER THIS IF YOU ARE DESPERATE TO RID YOUR TANK OF AEFW AND WILLING TO ACCEPT SOME RISK. I WOULD ALSO CALCULATE YOUR WATER VOLUME ON THE LOWER SIDE TO AVOID OVERDOSE.

So after some initial discussion in a different thread about using Levamisole for an in tank treatment for eradication of AEFW, I decided to make a dedicated thread to document my experiences and maybe some others can chime in with theirs.

First I would like to thank Bax for the help with this. His info was what got me to try this in the first place.

Quick backstory, I have been battling AEFW for about 2 months now and have lost some of my prized SPS pieces. Pretty heartbreaking. I have been doing dips every 4-5 days with Revive but they just keep coming back. Finally I have had enough and decided I'm willing to give levamisole a shot, I don't care if I wipe every SPS I have in my tank trying.

Levamisole, as some may know, is a dewormer. People in the freshwater side have been using it for a long time, especially discus keepers. Lately many of the products such as "Prohibit" that are used for pigs, goats and sheep have been very hard to find, due to some issues with the FDA. I managed to acquire it under the name "Vermisol" designed for birds. It comes in either a pill or powder form. I opted for the pills, which contain 23.6mg of Levamisole each, with a bottle containing 100 pills. The powder contains 7.5 grams of Levamisole but would require a little more work figuring out the dosage, but in the end it is cheaper.