• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

RWillieK

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've got a little tax money to play around with, so I'm thinking about setting up a nano.

My ultimate plan is to transfer everything from my 40g Long FOWLR into a smaller tank, and eventually turn it into a reef of sorts. I have about 30 lbs of LR, but I'm willing to sell the whole thing, and buy new rock etc. The 40g is messing with the house - its buckling the floor, and cracking drywall....accelerating the settling I guess.

Anyway - I would like a tank I can build a sump into. My idea is to buy a semi-rectangular tank, and square it off by putting in a false wall, creating the sump. I've seen a few tanks like that, just can't find the link now.

I've never built a tank before, so I I would prefer to stay away from that. I bend plastic at work all the time, but I don't trust myself with the the risk of screwing up the entire tank.

So any tank suggestions? Any other sugestions?!

Thanks!

Robbie

RWillieK

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
here is a quick drawing of what I want to do:

nanotank.jpg

I'd like to run four 2 foot NO bulbs over the tank (since I already have them).

The pump in the back is either a Maxijet 1200....I might possibly run another pump, Maxijet 600 on the other side. They would run through bulkheads to clean up the tank.

I do have a Mag3 I could run, but I think the flow would be a little much.

Robbie

brandon4291

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Robbie,

Welcome to our forum, really glad to have you on. And there's nothing better than a new participant with a thickened bank account! :)

I am stewing over some ideas about your system while I am also at work trying to chat undercover...I'll get back on soon though. In the meantime, click around on our Nano and General forums and feel free to PM any of the posters who have made suggestions that are similar to your ideas.

Glad to have you aboard,

Brandon M.