• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

JazzcatCB

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Today I went and purchased a nano-reef setup from a fish store 50 miles away. They are a wholesale store that just started selling to the public. They had live sand for .99/lb. and I thought that was a great buy, so I bought 40 lbs. But when I got home and started putting the sand into my tank, I realized that it was SILICA based, not ARAGONITE! Argghh!

Will this reduce the effectiveness of the live sand? I was planning on putting a jawfish in the tank, but I guess that's out now :( Furthermore, I was anticipating calcium leeched from the aragonite dsb to contribute to my tank's calcium levels, but I guess that's out now too.

DAMN! Why the hell didn't I think to check before I bought it! *kicks self until bloody*

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So..........
I've been using silica sand in many of my tanks for over 40 years.

Regards,
David Mohr

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The Silica is fine as long as it's pure Silica, the sand grains are small, and the grains don't have jagged edges (crushed sand). The amount of Calcium and Carbonate "leeched" from an Aragonite sand bed is measurable but fairly insignificant on the grand scale of things.

JazzcatCB

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well, I called the FS owner where I bought the sand from and asked him what kind of sand it is. He said that it is a mixture of Bahama, Fiji, and Florida beach sand with 10% aragonite.

My main concern is whether a jawfish will be able to burrow in this stuff. Does anyone know?

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
JazzcatCB":18vr6pf0 said:
Well, I called the FS owner where I bought the sand from and asked him what kind of sand it is. He said that it is a mixture of Bahama, Fiji, and Florida beach sand with 10% aragonite.

My main concern is whether a jawfish will be able to burrow in this stuff. Does anyone know?