• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

MonKei

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Recently my 5 gal tank (not really a reef.. but its small) has had a stroke of bad luck.. water got very cloudy, lost a few fish and starfish, had frogspawn look really sad.. I am sure all you experienced reefers know what I am talking about.. I've only been doing saltwater for about 6 months, so I am still pretty new at this and am not too sure what was going on.. my water tested fine at the LFS, so that wasnt much help.. but since, I've done a few water changes.. stired it up a bit to get the decaying organics out of tight spots and now its looking halfway better.. time will tell.. hopefully it will recover fully soon..

Equipment
5 gallon Mini-bow
20w 50/50 Mini-Compact Flurorescent Lighting
Whisper hang on back Filter
25w Hang on back heater (kept clean of salt residue...)
air pump/stones which are in there but havn't been in use for a long while..

LR and Livestock
Water salinity at 1.023 SG
~4lb Fiji LR
~1.5in sandbed
few coral remains just to fill space
4 x Blue leg hermit crabs
1 x Pyramid Snail
1 x Honey Chromis
1 x Yellow Damsel
1 x Frogspawn Coral

Food and Additives
Liquid Calcium
Live Phytoplankton (interesting find at the LFS - its all green)
Frozen Brine Shrimp

Pics
Front
full.JPG

Side
side.JPG

Closeup of Recovering Frogspawn and Hermit
frogspawn.JPG

I've thought about pulling the coral remains out in trade for a few more pounds of life rock, I've been told that it would be benficial to make it closer to 7 pounds or so in there.. Ive also thought about adding a small ~2 gallon sump/refugium off the side to add to water volume and keep water a little cleaner and maybe getting a very small skimmer as well (dont think its really necessary though...).. this would be sometime in the future... I want to let things settle in the tank before doing some big adjustment like that...