• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

WALD0123

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've had a Nano Cube for a little over a month now. I recently took out the stock lighting and put in a Hamilton 2x28 watt retrofit. I'm just a little concerned about the condensation in the hood. There seems to be a ton of it, especially after the lights have been on all day. I'm a little concerned because I noticed some rust on my reflector and clips when I took out the stock lighting. I'm guess I'm just wondering if condensation is a big issue if so, what can I do about it? Thanks for your help, I'm a beginner to nano tanks and wouldn't have been able to get off the ground without this forum.

Juck

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey Waldo,

I have a fan mounted on my cube (blowing air in),,, it's been there since day one and I don't have a condensation problem,, maybe that's why? I got the fan online and the AC adapter thing at Radioshack.

The adapter has variable voltage on a sliding switch so I can make the fan work harder when it gets really warm. I have 37w in my hood and I'm just able to keep the water temp at 80 on hot days,,, with 56w I would think a fan is necessary during the summer.

Go on,, tell me you already have a fan in there. lol

WALD0123

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks Juck, I actually haven't put a fan in yet because I was waiting to see what the temperature would do with the lights. As of yet, I haven't seen an increase in temperature under the lights really at all. Maybe from 78 to 79 but no more than that. I'll still probably have to get one in the summer though. Do fans really help with condensation? If so, I'll put one of those Radio Shack 60 mm computer fans in there as soon as possible.

SaltyMist

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Juck: