• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

ccny

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all, I'm basically new to this completely but decided to get a JBJ Nano Cube. I put in about 20 lb live sand and now 9 lb of live rock. I first put in 2 yelow belly damsels and one was much bigger so it basically was bullied to death. The other lived for 3 days and then died.

I freaked out cause I tested water every day and the ammonia was never >0.5 ppm and nitrate never more than 10 ppm. I let the tank settle for one week and got another damsel, this time a blue.

It's now only one day and it's breathing is labored. The pH and temp are usually 8.0-8.4 and 78 to 80 degrees. The ammonia was 0.5, nitrite 0.25, and nitrate 10. I panicked and did a 25% water change.

Am I doing something wrong? Should I just keep replacing the fish to keep the cycle going if it dies? Or should I just leave a dead fish in a tank to let the ammonia from that cycle the tank?

Sorry about the long post but getting a bit upset that 2 fish died and now another is headed for that deep pool in the sky.

brandon4291

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sorry about the initial troubles ccny, we'll get it fixed.

rdo_welcome.gif

From what I see in these nano cubes, there may not be enough seeded surface area in them when they are new--at least not enough to make up for being unskimmed and holding that many fish. It is likely that waste components, food particles and their breakdown components are accumulating at various stages of oxidization. What you need to do specifically is remove waste producers for awhile or go with one tiny small fish. At this point add more live rock, fill it up to the top along the back or something but try to work in critical suface area, each frag of live rock contributes much. Feed lighter and install one more internal powerhead, I recommend a minijet 14 set on med/hi mode. In two weeks it will be ready for one fish, in another week one more.