• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

watto102

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
:D
Hello everyone!
Newbie here, brand new nano cube running for about a week. LR about 16 lb. LS from friend's at LFS. No live stock yet, of course. I love this board...! so much info. A quick question to anyone with a nanosecond....! After reading some posts some of you guys recommend replacing the stock powerhead with a more powerful one. Any specific brands/models that do not require extensive mods to tank or existing piping? This is my first salt water tank after 10 or so years of FW guppy setups.
Thanks in advance!
P.S. I cant believe the incredible amount of growth/changes in the LR after only a week! There's even a huge amount of tiny white little creatures running around. About the size of a speck of sand... Any ideas of what these are? I hope they are not fish lice.... since I have no fish at all...!

Lostmind

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The little white things are probably copepods. They are beneficial.

As for a powerhead recommendation, I dont have one, sorry...

nanocat

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I recommend keeping the pump that's in there, and ADDING a powerhead in the left hand corner. You'll get nice cross flow (instead of the circular flow that one pump provides). If you direct it slightly to the top of the water it'll break up the surface film.

watto102

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks guys!
I'll add a second powerhead like nanocat suggested, there's some film starting to form on the surface.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
i didn't like the idea of having two powerheads, so here's what i did:

- remove old pump, throw away or use for saltwater mixing etc.
- put in a maxi jet 600. it fits exactly, very snug, but easy to put in