• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

A

Anonymous

I just set up a Candy Combo XL pico "reef" for my two sexy shrimp. It's about .5 — .75 gallon, ish, with a little power filter, PC light, live sand from my 65-gallon tank, some live rock, a little caulerpa prolifera.

I'm worried about temperature fluctuations. During the day it's fine, but when the PC light is off at night, the temp dips. I ordered a 25 watt heater (see link below), but I don't want to fry the little shrimp. Does anyone have experience with heaters in a pico? Any better way to control temperature?

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod_Display.cfm?siteid=6&pCatId=3925

Attachments

• sexy_nano2.jpg
    sexy_nano2.jpg
    89.7 KB · Views: 605
  • sexy_nano3.jpg
    sexy_nano3.jpg
    113.2 KB · Views: 610

brandon4291

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have some direct experience with heating pico reefs. May I say yours is nice! Ive seen those at the LFS for a couple months now, and they have one going as FW. I really like the little filter on the back, its very small and useful for holding scrubbers such as zeolite or carbon/resins of various kinds.

You have a few options in that setup, one is a reptile heater. About $20 from any pet shop, you would set the small reef on it then turn the pad on at night opposite of the lights. There are ways of using the tiny 3" inch heater (always on, no off switch) from Wal-Mart but this is also very tricky. All this is a matter of pure experimentation, .5 g picos can behave very differently from home to home.