• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

TealCobra

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys. I registered recently and have mostly been lurking around. I am new to salt water and was wanting to get a 75 gal tank in the next year or so. However, i'm thinking about doing a mini-reef setup first as i was thinking it might be a good way to get a start in the hobby.

How much should i expect to spend to get a 10-12 gal. setup running? How difficult are these to maintain? Any books in particular i should check out? Any recommended links to check out some tanks and equipment?

liquid

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi TealCobra and

rdo_welcome.gif

:P

In regards to good books, please see: http://reefs.org/library/reading/ There's a LOT to choose from. :) Any books you're specifically looking for?

Also, take a peek at our Newbie FAQ as this might help you with some of your questions: http://www.reefs.org/library/newbieguide.htm In addition we also have a library to look thru: http://reefs.org/library/

I don't have a nano tank but I'm sure Brandon429 and Matt_Wandell (two of our Taskforce members) or others will be able to give you more specific details on what you need to do to setup a 10 gal tank. They're definitely sweet tanks to keep on the desk. :)

We look forward to your involvement in our community! :D

Shane

brandon4291

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello TealCobra and glad you chose to log on here for info on starting your new marine systems. Id agree that starting a 10-12 is a nice way to jump into the hobby, and you can base much of the predictions about your upcoming 75g on the workings of your 10-12g nano.

Now let me start by saying that I know you know there are many different ways of setting up these systems. My ideas are just mine, and Im sure as this post grows there will be much insight added to the recommendations.