• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

A

Anonymous

Tank 58, 250W HQI MH, 2 95W actinics. 10 months old.

PH 8.0
ALk = 10 dkh
Cal = 380
PO4=0 (Undetectible by the Salifert Kit)
Temp = 78
Nitrate = 0

I have had it with Hair Algae.

I have added a second DI to my RO/DI filter. 0 TDS

When changing the water I scrub and siphon the HA out.

I have been doing 15 gallon water changes every week or 2 for the last 4 months.

I have done 2 larger water changes of 30 gallons each as well.

I scub the LR and it comes right back in 2 days.

5 weeks ago I removed all the LR scrubbed and dunked in new SW and placed back into tank twice.

I added a few Nassirius, Astrea, Margarita, Nerite snails = no change

I tried a Lawnmower Blennie and wouldn't touch it.

I am about ready to tear the tank down and get rid of it.

Any last recommendations?

Carpentersreef

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Have you tested your source water for PO4 or anything besides TDS?
What do you use to feed your inhabitants, and how much?

Mitch

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
blueoceandiver":3mbcug8n said:
get rid of the sand bed ,its most likely the cause of phosphate.

I would disagree. If the tank was older that could be the source, but unless you overfeed all of the time I do not think that is the culprit. What is you stocking now? Do you have a tang, they seem to help in mine. Besides cutting back on the feeding try reducing you proto period temporarly. I find mexican turbo snails work the best in my tank for algae control. The down side is they get big. The up side is it only takes 7 to keep my 110 clean. Do you have a skimmer? I do not see it listed. If you do not you may want to consider getting one. How is the flow in you tank? If it is not 10X plus you may want to increase it to keep the food and fish poop suspended in the water to be taken out by the skimmer.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I feed 1/2 cube of frozen mysis every 2 -3 days.