• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

dyslexia*teechur

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, all.

I am a teacher at a private school and I inherited the "class pet" at the end of the school year. I don't know much about it except that it's some sort of aquatic frog. I'm thinking an African Clawed Frog. It was used in some sort of experimental testing and is 7 years old. It apparently can survive extreme cold and heat and go for up to a month without eating.

I'd like to give it a better life, but I really don't know where to start. It would help if someone could point me in the right direction.

Here's a picture of Frog.

DSCN3335.jpg

fishfanatic2

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'd agree that it's an African Clawed Frog, and a decent-sized one at that. Give it a tank about 20-30 gallons and two-thirds filled with water. Any substrate is fine, a small power filer would be adequate, and lighting is up to you. Keep the tank between 70-75 degrees, and use rocks and other items for aquascaping. Also, make sure that any holes in the tank are covered, as they are escape artists. I had one a few years ago, he escaped and I never saw him again. Feed brine shrimp, krill, and reptile/amphibian pellets, and some live food once in a while wouldn't hurt.

If you wish to keep tankmates with the frog, then I would use a bigger tank as the fish must be bigger than the frog can fit into his mouth-and they have big mouths.

HTH

dyslexia*teechur

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks!

She is a bit big from what I've read. She's about 9 inches (just her body).

Can turtles live with her? Does she need any sort of rock? She tends to keep her head out of the water.

fishfanatic2

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
9 inches, thats a big frog!

Turtles should be fine, but then I might use a larger tank.

A rock above water couldn't hurt, but I'm almost positive that they're 100% aquatic. Someone else may have a little more insight on this. :)